Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



C.P. POKPHAND CO. LTD.

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) (Stock Code: 43)

CHANGE IN COMPOSITION OF BOARD

The Board is pleased to announce that, with effect from 31 December 2012, the following changes to the Board have taken place:

- (a) Mr. Vinai Vittavasgarnvej has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Company;
- (b) Mr. Yanyong Phuangrach has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Company; and
- (c) Mr. Patrick Thomas Siewert has resigned as a non-executive director and a member of the audit committee of the Company.

Appointment of Independent Non-executive Directors

The board of directors (the "Board") of C.P. POKPHAND CO. LTD. (the "Company") is pleased to announce that each of Mr. Vinai Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Yanyong Phuangrach has been appointed as independent non-executive directors of the Company with effect from 31 December 2012.

Mr. Vinai Vittavasgarnvej ("Mr. Vittavasgarnvej"), aged 62, obtained a Bachelor's degree in Accountancy and a Master's degree in Political Science from Thammasat University, Thailand. Currently, Mr. Vittavasgarnvej is the chairman of Sahamitr Pressure Container Public Co., Ltd. and independent director and the chairman of the audit committee of Ekarat Engineering Public Company Limited, companies listed on The Stock Exchange of Thailand. He was the Director General of The Treasury Department, Ministry of Finance, Thailand from 2010 to 2011 and the Director General of The Revenue Department, Ministry of Finance, Thailand from 2008 to 2010.

Mr. Yanyong Phuangrach ("Mr. Phuangrach"), aged 60, obtained a Bachelor's degree in Laws from Chulalongkorn University, Thailand and a Master's degree in Laws from New York University, United States of America. Mr. Phuangrach is a Thai Barrister at Law. He was the Permanent Secretary of Commerce, Thailand from 2009 to September 2012.

Mr. Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Phuangrach do not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Mr. Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Phuangrach do not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. Saved as disclosed above, they have not held any other directorships in listed public companies in the last three years and they do not hold any other positions in the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

Each of Mr. Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Phuangrach has entered into a letter of appointment with the Company for a term of one year, which is renewable and is subject to retirement by rotation and reelection at general meetings in accordance with the bye-laws of the Company. The director's fee for each of Mr. Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Phuangrach is HK\$240,000 each per annum, which is determined based on their anticipated time and effort to be spent on the Company matters.

Save as disclosed above, there is no information relating to Mr. Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Phuangrach that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in respect of their appointments.

Resignation of Non-executive Director

The Board also announces that Mr. Patrick Thomas Siewert ("Mr. Siewert") has resigned as a nonexecutive director and a member of the audit committee of the Company with effect from 31 December 2012 as he has to devote his time on other commitments.

Mr. Siewert has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there are no other matters relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Siewert for his valuable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office and also to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Phuangrach on their appointments.

By Order of the Board Arunee Watcharananan Director

Hong Kong, 31 December 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises nine executive directors, namely, Mr. Dhanin Chearavanont, Mr. Adirek Sripratak, Mr. Thanakorn Seriburi, Mr. Soopakij Chearavanont, Mr. Bai Shanlin, Mr. Sooksunt Jiumjaiswanglerg, Mr. Anan Athigapanich, Mr. Suphachai Chearavanont, Mrs. Arunee Watcharananan; one non-executive director, namely Mr. Meth Jiaravanont; and five independent nonexecutive directors, namely, Mr. Ma Chiu Cheung, Andrew, Mr. Sombat Deo-isres, Mr. Sakda Thanitcul, Mr. Vinai Vittavasgarnvej and Mr. Yanyong Phuangrach.