Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## APPOINTMENT AND RESIGNATION OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

## The Board announces that:

- (a) Mr. Yu Jianping is appointed as an executive director of the Company with effect from 16 January 2017; and
- (b) Mr. Anan Athigapanich has resigned as an executive director of the Company due to personal health reasons with effect on 16 January 2017.

## Appointment of Executive Director

The board of directors (the "Board") of C.P. Pokphand Co. Ltd. (the "Company", and together with its subsidiaries, the "CPP Group") announces that Mr. Yu Jianping ("Mr. Yu") is appointed as an executive director of the Company with effect from 16 January 2017.

Mr. Yu, aged 56, is currently a senior executive of the CPP Group, primarily responsible for research and development, manufacture and sale of food products in China. Mr. Yu also holds directorships in several companies within the CPP Group. Mr. Yu has been working for the CPP Group since 1995. Mr. Yu received a Bachelor of Science degree from the Faculty of Mathematics, Jilin University in China in 1982 and a Master of Economics degree from the Graduate School of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences in China in 1989.

Mr. Yu has confirmed that, as at the date of this announcement and save as disclosed above, (i) he did not hold any other directorship in public companies the securities of which were listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years preceding the date of his appointment nor had other major appointment and professional qualifications, (ii) he did not have any relationship with any director, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company, (iii) he did not have any interest in the securities of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance, (iv) he did not hold any other position with the Company or any of its subsidiaries, and (v) there was no information which is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Listing Rules and there were no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in relation to his appointment.

There is no service contract entered into between the Company and Mr. Yu and he will not receive any director's fee with respect to his appointment as an executive director of the Company. Mr. Yu is currently entitled to an aggregate salary of US\$798,000 per annum from the CPP Group. Mr. Yu has not been appointed for a specific term but shall be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at general meetings in accordance with the bye-laws of the Company.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Yu on his appointment.

## Resignation of Executive Director

The Board announces that Mr. Anan Athigapanich ("Mr. Athigapanich") has resigned as an executive director of the Company due to personal health reasons with effect on 16 January 2017.

Mr. Athigapanich has confirmed that he had no disagreement with the Board and there were no matters relating to his resignation that needed to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company or The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Athigapanich for his valuable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office.

By Order of the Board

Arunee Watcharananan

Director

Hong Kong, 16 January 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises eight executive directors, namely, Mr. Dhanin Chearavanont, Mr. Adirek Sripratak, Mr. Soopakij Chearavanont, Mr. Bai Shanlin, Mr. Sooksunt Jiumjaiswanglerg, Mr. Suphachai Chearavanont, Mrs. Arunee Watcharananan and Mr. Yu Jianping; two non-executive directors, namely, Mr. Meth Jiaravanont and Mr. Yoichi Ikezoe; and five independent non-executive directors, namely, Mr. Ma Chiu Cheung, Andrew, Mr. Sombat Deo-isres, Mr. Sakda Thanitcul, Mr. Vinai Vittavasgarnvej and Mrs. Vatchari Vimooktayon.